Magheia - Our "Premiere" CD!

Featuring the PSQ with guest artist Victoria DiMaggio Lington.

The impetus to record this album came about as a result of our performance of Lucie Robert-Diessel's "Magheia." This "magical" masterpiece for saxophone quartet and piano has been recorded once before not long after the premiere of the piece in 1976 with the composer at the piano. We were so inspired by the work, that we wanted to record it! As a result of correspondence with the composer, we were fortunate to have her write a new work for this combination of instruments, Issôs? Finally, the opening work on the recording is by San Francisco Bay Area composer, Jon Scoville. His lively, minimalist style work, "Sr. Miro's Saxophone" is a regular crowd pleaser at our concerts. We hope you'll enjoy it!

Sr. Miro’s Saxophone by Jon Scoville
Suite for Saxophone Quartet
1. Mr. Miro’s Saxophone
2. A Paseo for Miro
3. Mirouette
4. A Fog Surronds Miro
5. Miro Miro
6. Miro Running
7. Miro Asleep
Issôs? by Lucie Robert-Diessel
pour Quatour de Saxophones et Piano
8. Movement 1
9. Movement 2
Magheia by Lucie Robert-Diessel
10. Introduction et Cantiline
11. Ronde
12. Recit
13. Misterioso e quasi una fantasia
14. Recit
15. Danse
Get the CD or mp3 versions now!

Also on iTunes!
Premiere Saxophone Quarte - Magheia - Magheia: No. I: Introduction Et Cantiline